DOES anyone recognize this shop sign in Lumley Road, Skegness?
The sign, which dates back to 1945 is still in place at 8 Lumley Road and was of course the name of the owners who ran a tobacco and sweet shop prior to selling the property to Mr Reuben Marcus in 1966.
It is one of the older names in retailing in Skegness and many of the longer standing residents of the town will remember Bert and Queenie who were the last in the family line to run the shop. The property joins Lumley Road with High street and before Bert married Queenie was run by her parents Tom and Gertrude Searis – mentioned in the Dutton Directory of Skegness in 1935 – still as a sweet shop.
The family connection goes back further though to Emma Bains who was the Great Aunt of Jill Foster – the daughter of the Winhams who still lives in Skegness with husband Reg in Lincoln Road.
How many shops still survive in the town centre? While they have come and gone Lumley Road can still boast some long standing names like Sayer, Major, Tudor cafe, Blackbourn shoes, Lowndes, Tower cafe, Midland, Lloyds, Barclays and Natwest Banks, Tower Arcade, Boots chemist, Freeman Hardy and Willis, Bonnets, Shades, Hudsons and the Marine.
Looking at the 1935 directory produces some long forgotten facts as well – t he Co-op had stores in High Street and the western end of Lumley Road, the Gas showrooms belonged to the Skegness Urban District Council and the Labour Exchange was in High Street.
Source: Skegness News 15th February 1995