Skegness News and Events on Video

New Concept for Skegness

Skegness News and Events on Video was born in 2005. Back then, news on video was a new concept for Skegness.

The idea was born out of my deep passion for keeping records, for us and for our children -I dusted off the cam which had been sat in the cupboard for months, though had previously had much use in videoing the pet dog, and set off to video my first news event.. (much to my pet dog’s relief!)

All the videos on this website are taken by, and processed myself, as an unpaid hobby in my spare time – I am not a professional videographer.  In the early years, I began with an analogue handycam, progressing after a while to a digital 8, and unfortunately, the standard definition quality leaves much to be desired. This wasn’t improved much by the basic video editing software available at the time. I hope you will agree that the later videos have improved enormously, being shot in high definition. The good news is, however, that at least video footage of many news stories and events in Skegness since 2005 has been secured for future generations.

Today’s News is Tomorrow’s History

Today’s news and events makes tomorrow’s history so it follows that the stories accompanying the videos on this website have been included in our Skegness History website. You will find links to the individual news articles beneath the videos.

Thanks for stopping by!

Leave a comment