Dunes Pub Winthorpe Gutted by Fire

The Dunes pub at Winthorpe Skegness on the Lincolnshire coast lies gutted after a fire started around 7am this morning (Sat 7th June 2007).

Dozens of firefighters were called in to tackle the major blaze which damaged the surrounding arcades.

Witnesses at the scence were saying that cleaners were in the pub when someone smelled smoke. The premises were evacuated and there are no reports of any injuries. One person said that they thought the fire may have started in the site of glass washing machine but this is unconfirmed.

The private residence next to the pub was evacuated and an elderly lady who lives around a 100yards from the pub was taken to Pilgrim Hospital with smoke inhalation but was later released.

dunes_fire-026

dunes_fire-015

Video Dunes Pub Fire

On Sunday fire crews returned to the scene of devastation to look for ‘hot spots’ where the fire had started and they have now confirmed that the blaze began by an electrical fault.

An entertainer who worked at the pub, Bobby Law, said “We don’t want people to think The Dunes had gone because it is well worth saving. It will come back – no matter what we have to do The Dunes will always be here.”

Were you at the scene of the fire? Tell us what you saw in the comments box below.

More photos of Dunes Pub Fire

0 thoughts on “Dunes Pub Winthorpe Gutted by Fire

  1. We received the following comment from Leanne:

    “Ive worked at the dunes for two years before leaving this year. I had fun and feel really sorry for the people i have grown to know and care about that have lost their jobs today. The dunes was a great place to work, and for people to visit. I want to thank the owner of the show bar for giving me the pleasure of working in a pleasant environmen”.
    Ex-dunestar Leanne

  2. We received the following comment from Leanne:

    “Ive worked at the dunes for two years before leaving this year. I had fun and feel really sorry for the people i have grown to know and care about that have lost their jobs today. The dunes was a great place to work, and for people to visit. I want to thank the owner of the show bar for giving me the pleasure of working in a pleasant environmen”.
    Ex-dunestar Leanne

  3. My family & I are devastated by this fire. We go to this pub every night when we are on holiday in Skegness. My 6 year old daughter loves the Dunestars and their dances,they are great girls. My heart goes out to Bobby Jo, Amy, Claire & Danneka and all the rest of the fantastic people that work there.
    I really hope you all the best for the future and hope you rebuild it quickly.

  4. My family & I are devastated by this fire. We go to this pub every night when we are on holiday in Skegness. My 6 year old daughter loves the Dunestars and their dances,they are great girls. My heart goes out to Bobby Jo, Amy, Claire & Danneka and all the rest of the fantastic people that work there.
    I really hope you all the best for the future and hope you rebuild it quickly.

  5. I have been going to The Dunes since i was a baby with my family and now go with my children. We are all devasted by this.
    I was there this weekend with my boyfriend and was walkin from Ingoldmells to Skegness along the seafront. We was going to call in to The Dunes on our way past when we came across the banners n police stopping us. I was very shocked by what i saw.
    I’m devasted for Smiths Arcades too as i have many memories going in there as a kid. There was many old childrens rides there which i can remember going on as a kid.

    All the best to the staff there and hope it is all rebuilt soon. It’ll never be the same tho.

    Good luck for the future!!

  6. I have been going to The Dunes since i was a baby with my family and now go with my children. We are all devasted by this.
    I was there this weekend with my boyfriend and was walkin from Ingoldmells to Skegness along the seafront. We was going to call in to The Dunes on our way past when we came across the banners n police stopping us. I was very shocked by what i saw.
    I’m devasted for Smiths Arcades too as i have many memories going in there as a kid. There was many old childrens rides there which i can remember going on as a kid.

    All the best to the staff there and hope it is all rebuilt soon. It’ll never be the same tho.

    Good luck for the future!!

  7. Is such a shame this pub has gone, many a good day spent there on our way to Skeg, will be sadly missed.
    Hope you can repair the damage in the near future!
    All the best
    Max

  8. Is such a shame this pub has gone, many a good day spent there on our way to Skeg, will be sadly missed.
    Hope you can repair the damage in the near future!
    All the best
    Max

  9. If the Dunes is rebuilt, I hope it takes into account the local environment and community. I remember many years ago it was a beautiful little bar, a real hub for the folk of Winthorpe. I’m not suprised at the inferno that engulfed the pub. Over the space of two decades, what was orginally just a bungalow had been hacked up and tacked onto to be something that was probably just to big and condensed to be on such a small plot. I hope the phoenix can rise from the flames. Its location is almost unique on the east coast, which something that should be taken into consideration by any future developement. Best of luck Bill

  10. If the Dunes is rebuilt, I hope it takes into account the local environment and community. I remember many years ago it was a beautiful little bar, a real hub for the folk of Winthorpe. I’m not suprised at the inferno that engulfed the pub. Over the space of two decades, what was orginally just a bungalow had been hacked up and tacked onto to be something that was probably just to big and condensed to be on such a small plot. I hope the phoenix can rise from the flames. Its location is almost unique on the east coast, which something that should be taken into consideration by any future developement. Best of luck Bill

  11. My partner and I are both singers who have played The Dunes many times over the years; I was supposed to be there on the 24th of June! The Dunes always made us welcome, both the staff and the guests, and the gig was always worth the 2-hour drive. What a sad occurrence! I hope that The Dunes is rebuilt bigger and better, so we can continue to entertain in one of the best venues on the east coast. Best wishes, and GOOD LUCK!!!! Tony and Liza x

  12. My partner and I are both singers who have played The Dunes many times over the years; I was supposed to be there on the 24th of June! The Dunes always made us welcome, both the staff and the guests, and the gig was always worth the 2-hour drive. What a sad occurrence! I hope that The Dunes is rebuilt bigger and better, so we can continue to entertain in one of the best venues on the east coast. Best wishes, and GOOD LUCK!!!! Tony and Liza x

  13. We have received this comment from jonniewill69:

    I Was truely shocked to here my holiday local had been gutted , Also i feel so sorry for the staff upstairs who were fantastic with the children and have now lost there jobs ,Dont lose faith and BUILD IT BACK BIGGER AND BETTER

  14. We have received this comment from jonniewill69:

    I Was truely shocked to here my holiday local had been gutted , Also i feel so sorry for the staff upstairs who were fantastic with the children and have now lost there jobs ,Dont lose faith and BUILD IT BACK BIGGER AND BETTER

  15. I can’t believe the Dunes is gone. I always enjoyed working there. As a singer I’ve been going to the Dunes for about 15 years. I’ve got to know the staff over the years and I’m really sad for them all. I just hope that they can all get jobs until the Dunes comes back. I really hope it’s rebuilt for their sake and for all the people who love to visit the pub. It always had a lovely atmosphere. I for one shall miss this great gig. love to all Liza L’Amour

  16. I can’t believe the Dunes is gone. I always enjoyed working there. As a singer I’ve been going to the Dunes for about 15 years. I’ve got to know the staff over the years and I’m really sad for them all. I just hope that they can all get jobs until the Dunes comes back. I really hope it’s rebuilt for their sake and for all the people who love to visit the pub. It always had a lovely atmosphere. I for one shall miss this great gig. love to all Liza L’Amour

  17. comment by severus1990

    **** me thats ruined my plans this year 😥 the dunes was great i went all the time, miss the staff aswel rofl. Build it back up, get a petition for it if they say they aint rebuilding it. anyway i hope someday wen i go back skeggy the dunes is standin there agen 😀

  18. comment by severus1990

    **** me thats ruined my plans this year 😥 the dunes was great i went all the time, miss the staff aswel rofl. Build it back up, get a petition for it if they say they aint rebuilding it. anyway i hope someday wen i go back skeggy the dunes is standin there agen 😀

  19. comment received from HmG2312

    i’m gutted, i worked there for ages =(
    i hope that all the staff past and present well i hope their all ok…
    and i hope billie is good as well
    much love
    ex kids-bar worker
    hannah xx

  20. comment received from HmG2312

    i’m gutted, i worked there for ages =(
    i hope that all the staff past and present well i hope their all ok…
    and i hope billie is good as well
    much love
    ex kids-bar worker
    hannah xx

  21. comment received from priorpru

    I saw this on holiday with my dog, keeta. did anyone see a pure white dog because thats keeta!

  22. comment received from priorpru

    I saw this on holiday with my dog, keeta. did anyone see a pure white dog because thats keeta!

  23. I worked as Entertainments Manager at the dunes and along with owner Billie reinvented the upstairs room with the dunestars and themed fun and games. My heart truly goes out to the Smith family as I personally know the unpresidented amount of effort they put into the venue. Every Entertainer i know always commented on the dunes as being one of the most friendly and welcoming venues anywhere so this is devastating. I sincerely hope that somehow The Dunes can be reborn. The Dunes is a legendary landmark on the family entertainment circuit and should be restored to its rightful glory. It is lucky that no body was hurt in the fire and again my heart goes out to all the staff who are now without jobs.

    If there is one thing I could say, that would be to keep the faith. Rebuild the Dunes….Dont let anybody stop you.

    Hope The Smith Family, Dunestars and all other staff are well

  24. I worked as Entertainments Manager at the dunes and along with owner Billie reinvented the upstairs room with the dunestars and themed fun and games. My heart truly goes out to the Smith family as I personally know the unpresidented amount of effort they put into the venue. Every Entertainer i know always commented on the dunes as being one of the most friendly and welcoming venues anywhere so this is devastating. I sincerely hope that somehow The Dunes can be reborn. The Dunes is a legendary landmark on the family entertainment circuit and should be restored to its rightful glory. It is lucky that no body was hurt in the fire and again my heart goes out to all the staff who are now without jobs.

    If there is one thing I could say, that would be to keep the faith. Rebuild the Dunes….Dont let anybody stop you.

    Hope The Smith Family, Dunestars and all other staff are well

  25. me and my boyfriend and our four children when we go to skegness we aways go to the dunes aways to play bingo have a drink kids play in play centre and play up play on candy man and get loads of sweets and teddys we will all miss the dunes very very very much and we hope it will be back for next season bigger and better and we are so very sorry for what has happend we coudn’t belive what had happend we all hope it will be back.

  26. me and my boyfriend and our four children when we go to skegness we aways go to the dunes aways to play bingo have a drink kids play in play centre and play up play on candy man and get loads of sweets and teddys we will all miss the dunes very very very much and we hope it will be back for next season bigger and better and we are so very sorry for what has happend we coudn’t belive what had happend we all hope it will be back.

  27. i can’t believe that the dunes had got burnt down
    what actually made it set on fire?
    i hope the dunes pub gets built back because about 1,0000 people went in there and got drunk every night and really enjoyed it.
    It was sad to see it go especially mycousin he cried for ages because he loved that place
    PLEASE GET IT BUILT BACK UP!
    WE LOVE IT

  28. hello i am the labamba kid and ime sure you remember the many nights i entertained you at the dunes with my great singing and snappy dress sense

  29. nooooooooooooooooooooooooooo, 😦 , As like many other customers of The Dunes pud, i too spent every night of every school holiday in there, running between my fave ‘Wonderboy’ game and mi parents upstairs in the pub. Made many friends (locals and holiday makers)over the years, GAWD the memories, snogs n fun me n my mates had in and around there, the memories will last foreva xxxxxx hope you rebuild and bounce back stronger than eva.

  30. l met a lovely guy from skegness that show me the dunes and the sea front one saturday nite, l wud av never believed that one pub and sea front cud av been a place l wud never forget, its sad this place as gone , but the memory that micheal gave me will never go .

Leave a Reply

